Apr 30, 2016

Children's Book Week Celebration Giveaway Hop

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE children's books! Some of my favorite memories are of me reading to my children as they fall asleep on my lap, or on rare occasions, the other way around. *chuckling*

I'm thrilled to be celebrating the 97th anniversary of Children's Book Week on May 2-8, 2016! Established in 1919, Children's Book Week is the annual celebration of books for young people and the joy of reading. In celebration of the longest-running national literacy initiative in the country, I'm participating in the Children's Book Week Celebration Giveaway Hop hosted by BookHounds. One lucky visitor will be randomly selected to win a new children's book of their choice worth up to $15, or a $10 Amazon gift card. Good Luck!

Apr 29, 2016

The Keeper of the Mist Blog Tour with Giveaway

HELLO LOVELY VISITORS! Thank you for visiting my stop of the blog tour! I have the pleasure of hosting Rachel Neumeier, the author of The Keeper of the Mist. Read on for details about the book, my review with favorite quote, and author information. Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post for a chance to win one (1) signed hardcopy (US Only)!

Apr 28, 2016

The Convergence Release Celebration with Giveaway

HELLO AND WELCOME! I have the pleasure of presenting Tenille Berezay, the author of The Convergence (Converters # 1) . After perusing through the selection of excerpts to include in this release celebration, I find myself quite intrigued and can't wait to read this one, too!! I hope you enjoy reading the exclusive excerpt that I've handpicked for this celebration. Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post for a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash!

Apr 27, 2016

Celebrate Mother's Day with a Kindle Fire Giveaway

LET'S CELEBRATE MOTHERS! Sorry dads. *wink* Personally, my husband and I don't celebrate mother's or father's day for ourselves. We've got it in our BIG heads that our children should celebrate us everyday. Funny thing...they never got the memo. I do, however, celebrate my beautiful mother on this particular occasion. It isn't until I had children of my own that I realized a mother's love runs deep and flows wide. As a daughter who has now become a mother, I wish you, Mom...Happy Mother's Day! I LOVE YOU!!

In celebration of all the beautiful mother's, an awesome group of bloggers and authors have joined with me to bring you one fabulous prize! One lucky winner will receive a Kindle Fire + Amazon Gift Code to fill it will ebooks ($250 Value). Alternately the winner can choose $250 in Paypal Cash. Thanks for this fabulous group of authors & bloggers who have sponsored this giveaway!

Apr 26, 2016

The Keeper (Crossing Realms 1) Blog Tour with Giveaway

The Keeper (Crossing Realms 1) cover

GREETINGS AND WELCOME to my stop of the blog tour! I have the pleasure of introducing Rebecca E. Neely, the author of The Keeper (Crossing Realms 1). Read on for details about the book, my review, and author information. Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post. Two (2) winners will receive a $15 Amazon Giftcard & 5 winners will receive an e-copy of The Keeper!

Apr 25, 2016

Painting Sky Release Celebration with Giveaway

Painting Sky cover

HELLO AND WELCOME everyone to my little virtual nook! I am excited to present Rita Branches, the author of Painting Sky. Join me in celebrating the release of her new book on April 25th. Read on for details about the book, an exclusive excerpt, and author information. Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post for a chance to win an e-Book!

Apr 14, 2016

The Secret Fire (The Alchemist Chronicles 1)

The Secret Fire (The Alchemist Chronicles 1) cover

  by C.J. DAUGHERTY  

book review rating 2.5 out of 5

French teen Sacha Winters can't die. He can throw himself off a roof, be stabbed, even shot, and he will always survive. Until the day when history and ancient enmities dictate that he must die. Worse still, his death will trigger something awful. Something deadly. And that day is closing in.

Taylor Montclair is a normal English girl, hanging out with her friends and studying...continue at Goodreads

AVAILABLE: Amazon | Book Depository

“Despite herself, Taylor couldn't help noticing that when Sacha smiled he was really good looking. His cheeks were ridiculous.”

Well, despite myself, I couldn’t help noticing that this description was a bit much, and came off more humorous than heated. But, I’m also not thirteen. The Secret Fire, by C.J. Daugherty, is the first installment in The Alchemist Chronicles. It was an admirable fantasy attempt that was a bit light in character and plot developments.

Apr 7, 2016

Rarity from the Hollow Review and Giveaway

  by ROBERT EGGLETON  

book review rating 4 out of 5

Lacy Dawn's father relives the Gulf War, her mother's teeth are rotting out, and her best friend is murdered by the meanest daddy on Earth. Life in The Hollow isn't great. But Lacy has one advantage—she's been befriended by a semi-organic, semi-robot who works with her to cure her parents. He wants something in exchange, though. It's up to her to save the Universe.

To prepare Lacy for her coming task, she is being schooled daily via direct downloads into her brain. Some of these courses tell her how to apply magic to resolve everyday problems much more pressing to her than a universe in big trouble, like those at home and at school. She doesn't mind saving the universe, but her own family and friends come first.

Will Lacy Dawn's predisposition, education, and magic be enough for her to save the Universe, Earth, and, most importantly, protect her own family?

Rarity from the Hollow is adult literary science fiction filled with tragedy, comedy and satire. It is a children's story for adults, not for the prudish, faint of heart, or easily offended.

AVAILABLE: Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble | Dog Horn Publishing

Gazing out of my window into the vast darkness of the sky, I am struck by the brilliance of tonight's full moon—tonight's blue moon. Which coincidentally is the perfect ambiance to compose my review because once in a figurative blue moon, I enjoy stepping out of my comfort zone to read a genre that I normally wouldn't. Sometimes I greatly regret it and wonder, Why must you be so curious? This time though, I have few regrets, for I found Rarity from the Hollow, by Robert Eggleton, to deliver an entertaining acerbic satire of modern society, whilst still gently reminding us of many core values.

Apr 5, 2016

The Requiem Red Release Celebration and Giveaway

The Requiem Red cover

  SUMMARY  

Patient Twenty-nine.

A monster roams the halls of Soothing Hills Asylum. Three girls dead. 29 is endowed with the curse…or gift of perception. She hears messages in music, sees lyrics in paintings. And the corn. A lifetime asylum resident, the orchestral corn music is the only constant in her life.

Mason, a new, kind orderly, sees 29 as a woman, not a lunatic. And as his belief in her grows, so does her self- confidence. That perhaps she might escape, might see the outside world.

But the monster has other plans. The missing girls share one common thread...each was twenty-nine's cell mate.

Will she be next?

Apr 3, 2016

April New Release Giveaway

April New Release Giveaway Hop

WELCOME TO THE April New Release Giveaway Hop hosted by the whimsical Shannon at It Start's at Midnight to give one lucky fan a new book of their choice worth up to $20. Good Luck!

Apr 1, 2016

April...of Fools, Felicitation, and Fiction

April…of fools, felicitation, and fiction

LET THE PRANKS begin! Happy April Fools' Day to you. Did someone fool you today? Spill it. Or, did YOU pull a prank on someone? Please share your stories in the comments section. I would love to read about them.

Of fools …

I’m not one for pranks. My face totally gives me away. But, one year I decided to play a trick on my beloved husband. I did the old “I’m pregnant!” trick. I know; I'm so unoriginal. I knew I had to text him, and I knew I had to do it when he’s swamped at work. Timing is key because if I allowed him to think things through, he ALWAYS figures me out. The texting went something like this: