Feb 29, 2016

Leap Into Cash $250 Giveaway

This giveaway is now closed.

The prize winner is listed below. Thank you everyone for your entry. Follow FLYLeF for more giveaway announcements.

Leap Into Cash $250 Giveaway - February 29th to March 20th

AN AWESOME GROUP of Authors & Bloggers have joined with me to bring you 1 fabulous prize!! We’re giving away $250 in Paypal Cash! Or alternately you can choose a $250 Amazon.com eGift Code! Thanks to these awesome bloggers & authors for sponsoring this giveaway!!

Feb 25, 2016

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle 1)

  by MAGGIE STIEFVATER  

book review rating 2 out of 5

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges fro ...more

Goodreads summary

FRANKLY, I'M SURPRISED by how I feel about this book. I was so sure I would like The Raven Boys, maybe even love it. I’ve heard so many good things about Maggie Stiefvater. MAGGIE! I was overjoyed to finally get my hands on a copy of this book. Halfway into it, though, I was completely crestfallen. With each turn of the page, I felt my excitement crushed by the hands of these silly teenage boys.

Feb 21, 2016

Truthwitch (The Witchlands 1)

  by SUSAN DENNARD  

book review rating 3 out of 5

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she's a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would k ...more

Goodreads summary

CURSE YOU FICKLEWITCHERY! I’m undecided. I'd like to rate it 2, or 3, or even 4. So, don’t bother with the rating, read on to find out more about my sudden onset of Ficklewitch prowess.

Feb 17, 2016

The Marriage Contract (The O’Malley’s 1)

  by KATEE ROBERT  

book review rating 3 out of 5

***Contains mature elements that may not be suitable for YA readers.***

Teague O'Malley hates pretty much everything associated with his family's name. And when his father orders him to marry Callista Sheridan to create a "business" alliance, Teague's ready to tell his dad exactly where he can stuff his millions. But then Teague actually meets his new fiancée, sees the bruises on her neck and the fight still left in her big blue eyes, and vows he will do everything in his power to protect her.

Everyone knows the O'Malleys have a dangerous reputation. But Callie wasn't aware just what that meant until she saw Teague, the embodiment of lethal grace and coiled power. His slightest touch sizzles through her. But the closer they get, the more trouble they're in. Because Callie's keeping a dark secret-and what Teague doesn't know could get him killed.

Goodreads summary

FUNNY AND PASSIONATE, The Marriage Contract, by Katee Robert, is an engaging and gritty contemporary romance about the sacred ties of family, ruthless mafia politics, and the remarkable tribute to the power of unexpected love.

Feb 14, 2016

Shadow and Bone (Grisha Trilogy 1)

  by LEIGH BARDUGO  

book review rating 4 out of 5

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Goodreads summary

SMART. UNPREDICTABLE. EMOTIONAL. These are the winning traits that prove Leigh Bardugo is a brilliant author adept at creating the perfect indulgence for fantasy fans. Shadow and Bone is highly addictive, yet undeniably satisfying.

Feb 8, 2016

Wicked Intentions (Maiden Lane 1)

  by ELIZABETH HOYT  

book review rating 3.5 out of 5

***Contains mature elements that may not be suitable for YA readers.***

A man controlled by his desires...

Infamous for his wild, sensual needs, Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire, is searching for a savage killer in St. Giles, London's most notorious slum. Widowed Temperance Dews knows St. Giles like the back of her hand— she's spent a lifetime caring for its inhabitants at the foundling home her family established. Now that home is at risk.

A woman haunted by her past...

Caire makes a simple offer—in return for Temperance's help navigating the perilous alleys of St. Giles, he will introduce her to London's high society so that she can find a benefactor for the home. But Temperance may not be the innocent she seems, and what begins as cold calculation soon falls prey to a passion that neither can control—one that may well destroy them both.

A bargain neither could refuse.

Goodreads summary

I’M HAPPILY NURSING a book hangover.

Wicked Intentions, by Elizabeth Hoyt, is a tempestuous love story with a generous measure of danger. Ms. Hoyt’s ability to fuse vastly amusing characters with sensuous and mature love scenes (BLUSHING), make this historical romance worthy of a sleepless night.

Feb 4, 2016

February New Release Giveaway Hop

This giveaway is now closed.

The prize winner is listed below. Thank you everyone for your entry. Follow FLYLeF for more giveaway announcements.

TO HELP YOU celebrate Valentine's Day, The Year of the Lucky Monkey (a.k.a. Lunar New Year), or any other special occasion, FLYLēF has the perfect (book) gift for you. I'm participating in the February New Release Giveaway Hop hosted by It Start's at Midnight to give one lucky fan a new book of their choice worth up to $20. So, enter away and start thinking of that perfect book you want. Good Luck!

Feb 2, 2016

February...Of Love, Leap, Luck, and Lit(erature)

I REALLY ENJOY alliteration, as you can probably surmise from my title. This month will be quite busy and fun in both my blogging life and personal life. I usually don’t open up about myself too much, unless it’s to discuss books. Today is an exception. I’d like to share a little bit of myself with you. I hope you enjoy it. If not, tell me to stop it, and I will. Or, if you do enjoy it, I’d love to hear your encouragement, as well. Let’s get started shall we?