Sep 21, 2015

Rarity from the Hollow

Rarity From the Hollow book cover

by Robert Eggleton
(an excerpt)

Cozy in Cardboard

Inside her first clubhouse, Lacy Dawn glanced over fifth grade spelling words for tomorrow’s quiz at school. She already knew all the words in the textbook and most others in any human language.

Nothing’s more important than an education.

The clubhouse was a cardboard box in the front yard that her grandmother's new refrigerator had occupied until an hour before. Her father brought it home for her to play in.

The nicest thing he's ever done.

Faith lay beside her with a hand over the words and split fingers to cheat as they were called off. She lived in the next house up the hollow. Every other Wednesday for the last two months, the supervised child psychologist came to their school, pulled her out of class, and evaluated suspected learning disabilities. Lacy Dawn underlined a word with a fingernail.

All she needs is a little motivation.

Before they had crawled in, Lacy Dawn tapped the upper corner of the box with a flashlight and proclaimed, "The place of all things possible — especially you passing the fifth grade so we'll be together in the sixth."

Please concentrate, Faith. Try this one.

"Armadillo."

"A, R, M … A … D, I, L, D, O," Faith demonstrated her intellect.

"That's weak. This is a bonus word so you’ll get extra points. Come on."

"It’s red …,” Faith said.

Lacy Dawn nodded and looked for a new word.

I’ll trick her by going out of order — a word she can't turn into another punch line.

“…and way bigger than my daddy’s pee pee. My oldest sister told me what it’s for, but I already knew from when I watched daddy do her. They didn’t know I was hid in the closet. It was scary.”

“Don’t talk about it and the image will go away.”

“One time, my mommy made so much noise that I woke up in the middle of the night. She’s louder than my sister. Then, all of a sudden she stopped. I guess the batteries went dead ‘cause she tiptoed into my room and took the ones out of my Walkman. They were dead too.”

“Let’s get back to studying,” Lacy Dawn said.

My mommy don't like sex. It's just her job and she told me so.

Faith turned her open spelling book over and rolled onto her side. Lacy Dawn did the same and snuggled her back against the paper wall. Face to face — a foot of smoothness between — they took a break. The outside was outside.

At their parents insistence each wore play clothing — unisex hand-me-downs that didn’t fit as well as school clothing. They’d been careful not to get muddy before crawling into the box. They’d not played in the creek and both were cleaner than the usual evening. The clubhouse floor remained an open invitation to anybody who had the opportunity to consider relief from daily stressors.

"How'd you get so smart, Lacy Dawn? Your parents are dumb asses just like mine."

"You ain't no dumb ass and you're going to pass the fifth grade."

"Big deal — I'm still fat and ugly," Faith said.

"I'm doing the best I can. I figure by the time I turn eleven I can fix that too. For now, just concentrate on passing and don't become special education. I need you. You're my best friend."

Robert Eggleton has served as a children's advocate in an impoverished state for over forty years. He is best known for his investigative reports about children’s programs, most of which were published by the West Virginia Supreme Court where he worked from 1982 through 1997, and which also included publication of models of serving disadvantaged and homeless children in the community instead of in large institutions, research into foster care drift involving children bouncing from one home to the next -- never finding a permanent loving family, and statistical reports on the occurrence and correlates of child abuse and delinquency. Today, he is a recently retired children's psychotherapist from the mental health center in Charleston, West Virginia, where he specialized in helping victims cope with and overcome physical and sexual abuse, and other mental health concerns. Rarity from the Hollow is his debut novel and its release followed publication of three short Lacy Dawn Adventures in magazines: Wingspan Quarterly, Beyond Centauri, and Atomjack Science Fiction. Author proceeds have been donated to a child abuse prevention program operated by Children’s Home Society of West Virginia. Robert continues to write fiction with new adventures based on a protagonist that is a composite character of children that he met when delivering group therapy services. The overall theme of his stories remains victimization to empowerment.
Your Story Awaits
Try Audible and Get Two Free Audiobooks

horizontal rule

Sep 17, 2015

House of Ravens (The Nightfall Chronicles 2)

House of Ravens book cover

by Karpov Kinrade
book review rating 4 out of 5

I WAS LEFT feeling emotional raw after turning the last page of Karpov Kinrade’s House of Ravens (The Nightfall Chronicles 2). I can’t go into the specifics or I may say too much. But, this I can share: An unspeakable tragedy falls upon one of my favorite characters. I am still saddened and shocked by the turn of events. I wish you would take it back Mr. and Mrs. Karpov Kinrade. I’m upset! I’m in denial!

I accept.

At almost twice the number of pages compared to Court of Nightfall, the second installment – House of Ravens – definitely reads as a more thoroughly fleshed out story. The action scenes are captivating. There were times when I would catch myself thinking, Run Scarlett. Get out. Now! This is balanced nicely with slower periods allowing me to better connect with the characters. A few of my favorites include: dangerous and manipulative King Varian, mysterious and noble Prince Kai, utterly charming Prince Wytt, and beautiful and selfless Princess Corinne. I enjoyed these new characters very much and liked the dynamic way they fold into Scarlett’s story.

Hurled into a foreign life as a new Initiate at Castle Vianney, Scarlett fights to rise above her classmates with one sole purpose – to destroy the Orders from within. From outside the castle walls, she dons the mask of Nightfall. Together with Zorin and the Shadow of Rome, she unites the rebels to stand against the Order.

Living a dual life comes with many sacrifices. However, it is good to see that Scarlett is not entirely alone and that there is still happiness in her life. Fans of Jax may begin to waiver their affections, much like Scarlett, when the chivalrous Kai competes for her heart. I don’t particular enjoy love triangles; I believe there are other ways to introduce tension to a relationship other than a third party. What’s even stranger is when Zorin begins to drop hints that he, too, may be smitten with Scarlett. Wow! A love…square? Silly as this may seem, the romantic interactions are enduring, if not complicated.

This book would have been nearly perfect if not for the writing errors. It’s hard for me to overlook good editing especially at this professional level when readers are asked to purchase the book. I saw it in Court of Nightfall, and I see it again here. But, if you can see pass that, you will discover a phenomenal story that ends with a very emotional and heart-wrenching conclusion worthy of every tear.

Your Story Awaits
Try Audible and Get Two Free Audiobooks

horizontal rule

Sep 11, 2015

ProtoStar (Star-Crossed Saga 1)

ProtoStar book cover

by Braxton A. Cosby
book review rating 3.5 out of 5

PROTOSTAR (THE STAR-CROSSED Saga 1), by Braxton A. Cosby, is a nicely paced science fiction and fantasy story. Young adult fans looking to read about love that transcends time and space, with a measure of action and suspense, will not be disappointed.

Young Prince William Derry, of the Torrian Alliance on Fabricius, accepts his first official mission to Earth to terminate the Star-child – a being with “an all-access pass to unadulterated, unstoppable, [and] uncontrollable power.” Upon contact with the Star-child, he discovers that this being is a smart and alluring 17-year-old female named Sydney. The closer he gets to Sydney, the deeper his feelings for her grow, and the more difficult it is for him to carry out his mission.

Meanwhile, back in Fabricius, King Gregorio Derry faces a different threat from warring fractions, namely the Dagmas Clan and Third Faction, both determined to overthrow the Torrian Alliance. William must destroy the Star-child to bring strength and honor to his family’s reign and crush any thoughts of treason. Can he?

Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I’d hoped. Mr. Cosby’s writing style, particular the diction, was an obstacle. The word “disgust” elicits a very strong visceral reaction for me. I felt that it was used too liberally and casually. “[Sydney] quickly looked away to hide her disgust.” “William’s face wrinkled in disgust.” For this reason and a few others, I had a hard time connecting with William and Sydney. Thus, their passionate love story was just lukewarm.

I did enjoy the suspenseful conspiracy in his home galaxy. I also liked how the story wrapped up nicely towards the end with an exciting climax, and a conclusion with a mysterious cliffhanger to pique my interest as to the fate of these star-crossed lovers in SuperNova (The Star-Crossed Saga 2).

Your Story Awaits
Try Audible and Get Two Free Audiobooks

horizontal rule

Sep 5, 2015

The 100 Giveaway

This giveaway is now closed. The Winner is Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense.

Thank you everyone for your entry. Follow on G+ for more giveaway announcements.

 

 

 

FLYLeF IS 100 DAYS OLD! To celebrate, you’re invited to enter for a chance to win a $100 Amazon.com Gift Card by telling us about an amazing blog in 100 words or less.

100 days.
100 words.
100 dollars.

 

TO PARTICIPATE

  1. In 100 words or less (1 word works too!), explain (in English) why you became a book-related blogger. If you don’t have a blog, share a book-related blog that you follow and explain why it's amazing. Have fun with your response. Please include the blog's link to encourage and promote sharing.
  2. Participants must e-mail their response to giveaway@flylef.com. Include "The 100 Giveaway" in the subject line, and your name (or alias) as you'd like it to appear on the Web. Participants will be added to the “ENTERED THIS GIVEAWAY” section.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

  1. NO PURCHASE OR PAYMENT REQUIRED TO ENTER OR WIN.
  2. Only one entry allowed.
  3. Entry period begins on September 05, 2015 midnight PST and ends on September 28, 2015 midnight PST.
  4. The Winner will be randomly (yes, randomly) selected and notified at FLYLeF (giveaway.flylef.com) and through Google Plus only on September 30, 2015. To ensure that you'll receive the Winner’s announcement, it is highly recommended (but not required) that you add FLYLeF to your circle.
  5. A $100 Amazon.com Gift Card prize will be fulfilled by the Sponsor to one lucky Winner. The Sponsor will use the e-mail address you used to submit your entry for this giveaway to fulfill your prize. Prize will be fulfilled within 1-2 weeks of drawing.
  6. Sponsor reserves the right to disqualify any Participants not eligible (e.g. submitting a blog not book-related, exceeding 100 words, etc).
horizontal rule

ENTERED THIS GIVEAWAY (last updated 09/23/15)

FLYLeF Book Reviews (name/alias example) || Otakutwins Reviews is an amazing blog featuring reviews, recommendations, giveaways, and so much more. Their fun and vibrant personalities are magnets that draw me back to their blog time and time again. (response example)

Teisha @ Girl Writes Reviews || I became a book blogger because I love books and connecting with people who are as passionate as I am about reading. I think storytelling is the greatest form of human connection, be it through the written word, spoken word, or visual arts—stories bring people together. My blog allows me to tell my own stories about my reading experiences. I get to share my unique opinions about books with people from all over the world. I created my blog to keep the cycle going; I want to connect with other human beings and pass on meaningful and influential stories.

Charlemagne K. || I am a secret admirer of Kirkus Reviews.

Angelina M. @ OtakuTwin Reviews || I started a book blog because books deserved to be known, shared, and loved not only by one person but by many. Book blogging does just that! Also books and writing have been a passion of mine for quite a while, book blogging let's me combine my two interests and allows me to make friends! ^^

Library Linsey @ Library Linsey's Teen Books & Baubles and The Linseyverse || First and foremost I'm a reader and lover of books. I blog because I want the share my thoughts with others. I started my book blog(s) to do just that and as a way to reach out to others involved in teen library services.

Bella @ Bella's Bright Bookshelf || Bella's Bright Bookshelf is the blog to go to when looking for YA books. Bella and a few other reviewers, are the last teen book reviewers that are actually teens! Because Bella is one of the only teen reviewers, she receives more requests, reviews, shares, likes, comments, etc. then some other blogs do. This is also why authors, publishers, editors, etc. go to Bella's Bright Bookshelf to get great teen reviews, by a teen.

SJ Bouquet @ A Tree Grows in Bookland || Let's get real here, there are some pretty bomb-ass (and some lame-ass) books out there. I read a lot. I love to talk about it. I needed a platform.

Charlie V. || I have a food blog! But, I follow a few book review blogs including: Daisy Chain Book Reviews and The Book Geek

Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense || Books are like air to me. They’ve become such an essential part of who I am and sustain me in a way that other hobbies do not. Every book has the potential to take me into another world, to work its magic in me, and to teach me things by allowing me to see through another’s eyes. Book blogging provides an opportunity for me to share the love I have for books as well as allowing others to share their love with me as well.

Joselyn M. @ Book Wormie Spot || I became a book blogger because I wanted to recommend books to others people and help indie authors with their books :)

Julie J. @ Book Bloggers, Book Worms and Book Reviewers || I became a book blogger because I think its a awesome/cool way to connect with other book nerds out there that have the same idea about reading books. Also we also get to share the kind of books we all read and comment opinion on it. After all being in a world of a book is better than being in reality.

Emily H. @ Emily Howitt || My blog actually has more than just books on it, but I usually put up reviews on Mondays, so I suppose it qualifies as a book blog. I started blogging about books because I needed something to blog about, and I needed an excuse to read more books. Now when I read for hours and hours, I can just pass it off as being productive. I’ve also found that I enjoy talking about the books I read, and helping other people find those books.

Sep 2, 2015

A Glance Back at August

WELCOME BACK STUDENTS! I can hardly believe school is already back in session. While my days of attending university is behind me, I do feel the excitement of the new academic year with my little men returning to montessori. Gone are the lazy mornings of sleeping in and replaced with the blaring alarm at the rude hour of (insert time here). But, before that first pop quiz, let's enjoy one of these wonderful titles from August.



Chase the Dark (Steel and Stone 1)
by Annette Marie

CHASE THE DARK, by Annette Marie, is a very promising start to the Steel and Stone series – a young adult contemporary fantasy...
Bind the Soul (Steel and Stone 2)
by Annette Marie

WITH THE SCANDAL of the Sahar Stone behind her and her innocence proven, Piper has never been more terrified. For unknowingly...
Yield the Night (Steel and Stone 3)
by Annette Marie

TAP. TAP. TAP. My mint-colored nails are tapping against the back of my Kindle. I’m looking at my reading progress – 26%...
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
by Jonas Jonasson

I TOOK TO this story like a leaf to the sky, leisurely floating in whatever direction the wind took. I was swept along with centenarian...
Silver Linings (Rose Harbor 4)
by Debbie Macomber

TO MY PLEASANT surprise, the Silver Linings is a heartwarming story about forgiveness and healing. It is uplifting and will leave...